Occupy Wall Street Marches with Unions and Progressives

10-5-11

At this point the OWS movement’s only three weeks old.  The corporate media’s making fun of the protesters claiming they’ve no idea what their demands are.  Well, anyone with half a brain could figure that out.  OWS is here to bring focus to the foreclosure crisis, student loan debt, income inequality, joblessness, Wall Street greed, illegal wars, corporate personhood, paid off politicians and to wake people up.  I must say I’m still amazed at how many people worship at the altar of corporate news, which isn’t even news in any remote shape or form. The brainwashing’s very well executed.  Like Chris Hedges says, “We are the most entertained and least informed people on the planet.”

Once downtown I realize there’s no way I can get through the throngs to find my friends at our designated meeting place.  I’m carried along by the tide of humanity, energy and hope.  I try calling my friend on my cell phone to find an alternative meet up spot.  As I walk along I remark to my friend,  “This is amazing.  It’s huge.  As big as Vietnam!” at which point the 20 something woman in front of me turns around with a look of amazement on her face to see who could have been attending the marches in the 60’s.

My friends and I finally met up at Foley Square.   We’re all union members and I’ve been attending marches and rallies about Wall Street greed since the global meltdown occurred and sometimes there’d be only me, Reverend Billy and 50 or so other protesters and I’m being generous.  Needless to say, I was thrilled by the throngs of people. 

The tremendous turnout was due in part to the 700 arrests on the Brooklyn Bridge the Saturday before as well as the viral video of the NYPD pepper spraying four unarmed young women who’d been kettled.  I guess they forgot or didn’t care we all carry smart phones and can transmit, tweets, photos, videos in a matter of seconds. 

The march traveled from Foley Square to Zuccotti Park and the permit was from 4-7 p.m.  So at 7 sharp my friends and I decided to call it quits and get the heck out of Dodge because sadly the NYPD would be looking for any excuse to start banging on, beating up and pepper spraying protesters.

Rev. Billy

My friends and I bid adieu and sure enough many protesters were arrested after we left and God bless them for having the courage and fortitude to keep putting their bodies on the line and standing up to injustice.

In solidarity until the next one.  We are the 99%.

 

 

 

About recoveringarmybrat

Jill Dalton is a recovering army brat/writer/performer who has appeared in film and television as well as performing her solo plays in New York and around the country. Most recently she can be seen in and consulted for William Hurt on the HBO film, “Too Big To Fail.” Her articles have been published on: Dandelion Salad, RSN, OpEdNews Progressive Activists Voice & NationofChange. Her book, "Is It Fascism Yet?" is available on Amazon.com. View all posts by recoveringarmybrat

Leave a Reply

