Remembering John

(Oct. 9, 1940 – Dec. 8, 1980)

The night John Lennon was shot he was recording his new album at the Record Plant on 44th Street in New York City.  At that time I was studying acting at the Real Stage with John Strasberg and when we left class that night we saw John and Yoko’s lemo parked downstairs and commented on it and I remember feeling so cool because I was in the same building with John Lennon.  I had obviously arrived.

The next morning I learned of his assassination and was dumbstruck.  How could this be?  Who would want to kill him?  He was a man of peace,  a great artist and one of my heroes.  I took the C train from my station and the next stop is 72nd Street, which is where the Dakota, the building where John and Yoko lived, is located.   As soon as the announcer said 72nd Street my eyes welled with tears.

Every afternoon for 6 months on my way home I’d get off at 72nd Street in order to pass by the Dakota and pay my silent respects to John.

I know John had enemies.  The guy who shot him whose name I will not mention and then there was Richard Nixon.  Lord knows he tried to deport John many, many times and each time John was allowed to stay.

How ironic a man who believed in peace and love would be such a threat to a country that touts itself as being founded on human rights and equality for all.

Here’s my theory.  Whenever you have great people of peace like John, Gandhi, Martin Luther King, or Jesus they emit a very bright light and that light illuminates people’s wounds and if these people are very unstable they will destroy the light so they don’t have to look at their own crap. They will blame the other.

But John is never far from me.  I have a giant poster of him in my hallway that leans against the wall.  It’s the one with his arms crossed and he’s wearing his New York City t-shirt.

John will never die.  He lives on through his art, his music and his ideas.

All we are saying is give peace a chance.

We love you John.

About recoveringarmybrat

Jill Dalton is a recovering army brat/writer/performer who has appeared in film and television as well as performing her solo plays in New York and around the country. Most recently she can be seen in and consulted for William Hurt on the HBO film, “Too Big To Fail.” Her articles have been published on: Dandelion Salad, RSN, OpEdNews Progressive Activists Voice & NationofChange. Her book, "Is It Fascism Yet?" is available on Amazon.com. View all posts by recoveringarmybrat

Leave a Reply

