OCCUPY THE BANKS

From Occupy Providence

by Jill Dalton

This is a gentle reminder.  If you have an account with Citigroup, JP Morgan Chase, Wells Fargo, Bank of America or Morgan Stanley and haven’t already moved your money please do so immediately.

We need to bring our economy back from Wall Street to Main Street and this is one way to do that.

Wall Street and the big banks do not create anything except more wealth for themselves.  They do not care about America, our communities, creating jobs (in fact they kill jobs), supporting education or anything that actually creates goods we can use.  They used to but not anymore.  The system has failed and is rotten to the core.

This transfer of your funds from one of the too big to fail banks into a local community bank or credit union is a small but powerful gesture especially when it’s done by thousands upon thousands of us.

I moved my money from Citibank to the Actors’ Federal Credit Union back in the 90’s.  It took forever for them to let me go.  These predatory institutions are like bad stalker boyfriends.  They use and abuse you and when you finally stand up and say, “Enough!” they threaten to kill you if you leave them.  Well, too bad for them.

It took me six months to completely disentangle myself from Citi and I ended up having to go into a local branch and speaking with a manager who finally settled things for me.

In the 80’s when I was making really good money in the garment center, Citi began stealing from my account at $200 a pop I went into my branch several times to complain and got no response until I finally sent a letter to the president of Citi and threatened to sue them; miraculously all my unexplained withdrawals suddenly stopped.  I never recovered my losses but at least they stopped stealing from me.

I walked out of that corrupt institution with my head held high and never looked back.  So stop enabling these abusers, stop playing the victim and take your power back.  It’s never too late.

Occupy the banks.

About recoveringarmybrat

Jill Dalton is a recovering army brat/writer/performer who has appeared in film and television as well as performing her solo plays in New York and around the country. Most recently she can be seen in and consulted for William Hurt on the HBO film, “Too Big To Fail.” Her articles have been published on: Dandelion Salad, RSN, OpEdNews Progressive Activists Voice & NationofChange. Her book, "Is It Fascism Yet?" is available on Amazon.com. View all posts by recoveringarmybrat

Leave a Reply

